Comelec proclaims 14 top party-list groups, to fill all 58 House seats by Monday
The online news portal of TV5

MANILA, Philippines -- (UPDATE - 12:36 p.m.) The Commission on Elections proclaimed Friday morning the 14 party-list groups that took the most votes in the May 13 elections.

Comelec Resolution No. 0006-13 said the following groups obtained at least 2 percent of the votes cast for party-lists:

  1. Buhay
  2. A-Teacher
  3. Bayan Muna
  4. 1-Care
  5. Akbayan
  6. Ako Bicol
  7. Gabriela Women’s
  8. OFW Family
  9. Abono
  10. Coop Natco
  11. Agap
  12. Cibac
  13. Magdalo
  14. An Waray

Comelec chairman Sixto Brillantes Jr. said the 14 proclaimed party-lists are guaranteed one seat in the House of Representatives but could gain one or two more seats once all winning groups have been proclaimed.

“The 14 proclaimed groups are safe.  Ipagdadasal na lamang nila kung dumami pa ang seats nila. But malamang ‘yan, magkakaroon ng tig-dalawa ang 14. Hindi lamang namin mai-proclaim ang dalawa kaagad kasi maapektuhan ang computations (They should pray that their seats increase. But it is likely the 14 will get two more seats each. We just cannot proclaim the two additional representatives because it might affect our computations),” Brillantes explained.

“There are votes for party-list groups still to be canvassed by the NBOC (National Board of Canvassers), and in order not to prejudice the proclamation of other parties, organizations, or coalitions which may later on be established to be entitled to a seat or additional seats, only party-list groups that obtained at least 2 percent of the votes cast for party-list will each be allocated with one (1) guaranteed seat,” the resolution, unanimously approved by the Comelec en banc, said.

Disqualified groups urge to get TRO

Meanwhile, Brillantes urged disqualified party-list groups, particularly Senior Citizens, which had the 10th most number of votes, to secure a temporary restraining or status quo ante order from the Supreme Court to be proclaimed, since most of them had garnered enough votes to win.

“Hindi nga sila kasali, kasi disqualified nga namin ang Senior Citizens, hinihintay na lamang namin ang TRO or SQA from the Supreme Court kung isasama namin o hindi. But, malamang hindi (They are not included because we even disqualified Senior Citizens, we are just waitinf for a TRO or SQA from the Supreme Court to include them or not. But most likely not),” Brillantes said. 

Brillantes said the five-day prescriptive period for the disqualified party list groups to secure a TRO or an SQA from the high court, counted from when they received the Comelec's disqualification order, lapses on Monday. 

“Unless the Supreme Courts acts on their petition, itutuloy na namin ito, tatapusin na namin ang (we will continue this and wind up the) party-list” proclamations, he said.

Monday comprehensive resolution

On Monday, Brillantes said, the Comelec will issue a comprehensive resolution for the final proclamation of all 58 party-list seats that will include the explanation for how the poll body came up with the computations for the winning groups and for disqualifying others based on the ruling by the Supreme Court.

He explained that Monday's proclamation will not be for another 44 groups but the number of seats stipulated by the Constitution.