Britney Spears to perform in Manila this JuneWednesday, March 29, 2017 1:34 am | By Edwin P. Sallan,

Iza Calzado feels pressured after first international awardTuesday, March 28, 2017 7:09 pm | By Edwin P. Sallan,

Paul McCartney making album with Adele’s producerTuesday, March 28, 2017 7:01 am | Agence France-Presse

Wiz Khalifa and Pablo Escobar: a Colombian controversyTuesday, March 28, 2017 6:49 am | Agence France-Presse

‘Bwakaw’ leads winners at 10th Golden Screen Movie Awards

Director Jun Lana poses with the seven trophies his film 'Bwakaw' won at the 10th Golden Screen Movie Awards.

The Oscar-submitted drama “Bwakaw” dominated the 10th Golden Screen Movie Awards on Saturday, winning seven awards, including Best Motion Picture-Drama, Best Director, and Best Actor.

“I’ve won quite a few awards as a writer over the years but this is my first award as a director and producer. Happiness! Mula sa APT Entertainment, Cinemalaya at Octobertrain Films, taos pusong pasasalamat sa Entertainment Press Society,” “Bwakaw” writer, director and co-producer Jun Lana said on Facebook on Sunday.

The movie musical “I Do Bidoo Bidoo” won four awards, including Best Motion Picture-Musical or Comedy.

Eddie Garcia tied for the best drama actor plum for his portrayal of an ornery old gay man in ‘Bwakaw”, with Alfred Garcia for his portrayal of Filipino revolutionary Andres Bonifacio in “Supremo”.

Gina Alajar won best drama actress for playing the matriarch of a criminal family in “Mater Dolorosa”. The lead acting honors for comedy or musical went to Aga Muhlach and Regine Velasquez, lead stars of the romantic comedy “Of All The Things”.

Entertainment Press Society or Enpress, the award-giving body behind the Golden Screen Awards, celebrated its 10th anniversary by giving the Dekada Awards Gallery of Distinction to past winners who have won two times or more in the awards’ 10-year history.

Honored were actresses Ara Mina, Cherry Pie Picache, Eugene Domingo, Iza Calzado, Judy Ann Santos, Maricel Soriano and Zsa Zsa Padilla, actors Aga Muhlach, Dennis Trillo, Coco Martin, Sid Lucero and Tirso Cruz III, director Jeffrey Jeturian, and producers Quantum Films, Star Cinema and APT Entertainment.

In his keynote speech, Enpress president Jun Nardo said his group came up with “an awards night that may be lacking in spectacle but not wanting in credibility”.

Host John Lapus brought the house down with his antics and costume changes per category.

Regal Films matriarch received the Lino Brocka Lifetime Achievement Award for her contributions to the movie industry.

The complete list of winners:

Best Visual Effects: Dave Yu of Mothership (“Tiktik: The Aswang Chronicles”)
Best Original Song: “Saan Ako Tutungo” from the movie “Migrante” composed by Lucien Letaba, Rody Vera and Boni Ilagan; arranged by Melvin Corpin and interpreted by Honey Araneta
Best Musical Score: Vincent de Jesus “I Do Bidoo Bidoo”
Best Sound Design: Antonieto Carlos “Supremo”
Best Production Design: Erin John Martir, Adrian Torres “Supremo”
Best Editing: Randy Gabriel “I Do Bidoo Bidoo”
Best Cinematography: Carlos Mendoza “Bwakaw”
Best Story: Jun Lana “Bwakaw”
Best Screenplay Adaptation: Jerry Gracio: “Intoy Syokoy ng Kalye Marino”
Best Original Screenplay: Jun Lana “Bwakaw”
Best Direction: Jun Lana “Bwakaw”
Best Breakthrough Performance by an Actor: Sef Cayadona “Gayak”
Best Breakthrough Performance by an Actress: Tippy Dos Santos “I Do Bidoo Bidoo”
Best Performance by an Actor in a Supporting Role-Drama, Musical or Comedy: Kristoffer Martin “Oros”
Best Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role-Drama, Musical or Comedy: Anita Linda “Sta. Nina”
Best Performance by an Actress in a Lead Role-Musical or Comedy: Regine Velasquez “Of All the Things”
Best Performance by an Actor in a Lead Role-Musical or Comedy: Aga Muhlach “Of All the Things”
Best Performance by an Actor in a Lead Role-Drama: A;fred Vargas “Supremo” and Eddie Garcia “Bwakaw”
Best Performance by an Actress in a Lead Role-Drama: Gina Alajar “Mater Dolorosa”
Best Motion Picture-Musical or Comedy: “I Do Bidoo Bidoo” (Unitel and Studio 5)
Best Motion Picture-Drama: “Bwakaw” (Cinemalaya, APT Entertaianmentand Octobertrain Films)