‘Norte’ misses Oscar shortlist for foreign language filmSaturday, December 20, 2014 1:39 pm | By Edwin P. Sallan,

Obama warns N. Korea over Sony hack: ‘We will respond’Saturday, December 20, 2014 8:35 am | By Susan Stumme, Agence France-Presse

George Clooney criticizes Hollywood in Sony cyber attackSaturday, December 20, 2014 7:17 am | Reuters

Stars fill the stage as Stephen Colbert closes his ‘Report’Friday, December 19, 2014 7:44 pm | By Chris Michaud, Reuters

Quezon City film festival announces 3 grant winners

Alvin Yapan receives his Best Director award for 'Ang Sayaw ng Dalawang Kaliwang Paa' from the Gawad Urian in June. He and producer Alemberg Ang are among the 3 grant winners of the Quezon City Film Festival. (Jude Bautista/InterAksyon)


After a rigorous screening of over 70 screenplay entries, organizers of QCinema: 2013 Quezon City Film Festival (Year 1) announced the three winners of production grants on Monday.

The winning scripts and their proponents are as follows:

“Gaydar” is a romantic comedy about a lovelorn heroine who always falls for gay men. This is latest project of Alvin Yapan and Alemberg Ang, the director-producer tandem behind the acclaimed film “Ang Sayaw ng Dalawang Kaliwang Paa”.

“Hello, World” is a coming-of-age dramedy about two boys who undergo a series of wacky adventures in the summer after their high school graduation. It will be the feature film debut of newbie filmmaker Joel Ferrer, a graduate of the Asia Pacific Film Institute.

“Lukas Nino” is an enigmatic tale about a boy who ponders his future, whether as a human or a tikbalang like his lost father, while everything around him changes when a film crew disrupts his village.

Th three finished films will be showcased when QCinema: 2013 is staged in the first quarter of 2013 by the Quezon City Film Development Council. The festival will be hosted by various cinemas in Quezon City.

The members of the screening committee who chose the grant winners are Soxie Topacio, Marichu Maceda, Milo Sogueco, Dr. Mary Ruby Palma, Dr. Isabel Sebullen, and Quezon City Film Development Council executive director Ed Lejano.

The screenplay readers who chose the finalists are Mel Chionglo, Jade Castro, Elizabeth Nakpil, Oggs Cruz, and Teddy Co.