Hollywood pays tribute to Bill Paxton on TwitterTuesday, February 28, 2017 1:32 pm | By Edwin P. Sallan,

Streaming industry in historic win at OscarsTuesday, February 28, 2017 8:29 am | By Jocelyne Zablit, Agence France-Presse

Trump blames Oscars fail on show’s political toneTuesday, February 28, 2017 8:02 am | Agence France-Presse

‘The Mistress’, ‘One More Try’, ‘I Do Bidoo Bidoo’ lead 29th PMPC Star Awards for Movies nominees

Bea Alonzo and John Lloyd Cruz in 'The Mistress'.

While the Hollywood awards season is about to conclude this Sunday (Monday morning, Manila time), the local movie awards season has just begun as the Philippine Movie Press Club on Thursday released the list of nominees for the 29th PMPC Star Awards for Movies.

Two Star Cinema melodramas, “The Mistress” and “One More Try”, garnered the most number of nominations with 13 apiece, including Movie of the Year and acting nods for its lead stars — John Lloyd Cruz and Bea Alonzo for “The Mistress” and Dingdong Dantes, Angelica Panganiban, and Angel Locsin for “One More Try”.

The movie musical “I Do Bidoo Bidoo”, the historical biopic “El Presidente”, and the Vilma Santos horror starrer “The Healing” followed with 12 nods each.

Among independent films, “Mater Dolorosa” — a crime drama about a female gang boss — garnered the most number of nominations with 11, including Indie Movie of the Year, followed by “Bwakaw” and “Thy Womb” with 10 each.

The Star Awards for Movies distinguishes between mainstream and indie releases, and includes honors for New Movie Actor and Actress of the Year.

The awarding ceremony will be held on March 10 at the AFP Theater, Camp Aguinaldo, Quezon City, and will be telecast on March 17 on ABS-CBN’s “Sunday’s Best”.

Senator Lito Lapid will receive the Nora Aunor Ulirang Artista Lifetime Achievement Award, while cinematographer Romy Vitug will be named Ulirang Alagad ng Pelikula Sa Likod ng Kamera.

Below is the complete list of nominees for the 29th Star Awards for Movies:

Movie of the Year:
“A Mother’s Story” (Star Cinema and The Filipino Channel)
“El Presidente” (Scenema Concept International, Inc.)
“I Do Bidoo Bidoo” (Unitel and Studio 5)
“One More Try” (Star Cinema)
“The Healing” (Star Cinema)
“The Mistress” (Star Cinema)
“Tiktik: The Aswang Chronicles” (Reality Entertainment, Agostodos Pictures, Mothership, Postmanila, and GMA Films)

Movie Director of the Year:
Ruel Bayani (“One More Try”)
Olivia Lamasan (“The Mistress”)
John-D Lazatin (“A Mother’s Story”)
Chris Martinez (“I Do Bidoo Bidoo”)
Erik Matti (“Tiktik: The Aswang Chronicles”)
Mark Meily (“El Presidente”)
Chito Roño (“The Healing”)

Indie Movie of the Year:
“Alagwa” (Breakaway Films)
“Amorosa: The Revenge” (Skylight Films)
“Bwakaw” (Octobertrain Films, APT Entertainment, and Cinemalaya)
“Graceland” (Imprint Films and Digitank Studios)
“Mater Dolorosa” (Creative Programs, Inc.)
“Mga Mumunting Lihim” (LargaVista Entertainment, and Cinemalaya)
“Thy Womb” (Centerstage Productions)

Indie Movie Director of the Year:
Adolfo Alix, Jr. (“Mater Dolorosa”)
Jun Robles Lana (“Bwakaw”)
Topel Lee (“Amorosa: The Revenge”)
Ian Loreños (“Alagwa”)
Brillante Mendoza (“Thy Womb”)
Ron Morales (“Graceland”)
Jose Javier Reyes (“Mga Mumunting Lihim”)

Movie Actor of the Year:
John Lloyd Cruz (“The Mistress”)
Dingdong Dantes (“One More Try”)
Jeorge “E.R.” Estregan (“El Presidente”)
Eddie Garcia (“Bwakaw”)
Coco Martin (“Sta. Niña”)
Aga Muhlach (“Of All The Things”)
Jericho Rosales (“Alagwa”)

Movie Actress of the Year:
Gina Alajar (“Mater Dolorosa”)
Bea Alonzo (“The Mistress”)
Nora Aunor (“Thy Womb”)
Angel Locsin (“One More Try”)
Angelica Panganiban (“One More Try”)
Vilma Santos (“The Healing”)
Jodi Sta. Maria (“Migrante”)

Movie Supporting Actor of the Year:
Carlo Aquino (“Mater Dolorosa”)
Neil Coleta (“I Do Bidoo Bidoo”)
Joross Gamboa (“Intoy Syokoy ng Kalye Marino”)
Baron Geisler (“El Presidente”)
Zanjoe Marudo (“One More Try”)
Cesar Montano (“El Presidente”)
Ronaldo Valdez (“The Mistress”)

Movie Supporting Actress of the Year:
Kim Chiu (“The Healing”)
Janice de Belen (“Tiktik: The Aswang Chronicles”)
Alessandra de Rossi (“Mater Dolorosa”)
Mylene Dizon (“Sosy Problems”)
Jaclyn Jose (“A Secret Affair”)
Hilda Koronel (“The Mistress”)
Anita Linda (“Sta. Niña”)

New Movie Actor of the Year:
RK Bagatsing (“Slumber Party”)
Neil Coleta (“I Doo Bido Bidoo”)
Jericho Estregan (“El Presidente”)
Diego Montano (“Hitman”)
Daniel Padilla (“24/7″)
Marti San Juan (“The Grave Bandits”)
Markki Stroem (“Slumber Party”)

New Movie Actress of the Year:
Dawn Balagot (“The Animals”)
Shy Carlos (“A Secret Affair”)
Tippy Dos Santos (“I Do Bidoo Bidoo”)
Mayton Eugenio (“Dormboys”)
Glenda Kennedy (“Thy Womb”)
Kim Komatsu (“Mga Mumunting Lihim”)
Sweet Plantado (“I Doo Bidoo Bidoo”)

Child Performer of the Year:
Abby Bautista (“The Healing”)
Bugoy Cariño (“Alagwa”)
Clarence Delgado (“The Mistress”)
Aaron Junatas (“A Mother’s Story”)
Xyriel Manabat (“A Mother’s Story”)
Marti San Juan (“The Grave Bandits”)
Miguel Vergara (“One More Try”)

Movie Screenwriter of the Year:
Kriz Gazmen, Jay Fernando, and Anna Karenina Ramos (“One More Try”)
Roy Iglesias (“The Healing”)
Chris Martinez (“I Do Bidoo Bidoo”)
Erik Matti (“Tiktik: The Aswang Chronicles”)
Mark Meily (“El Presidente”)
Senedy Que (“A Mother’s Story”)
Vanessa Valdez (“The Mistress”)

Movie Cinematographer of the Year:
Francis Ricardo Buhay III (“Tiktik: The Aswang Chronicles”)
Hermann Claravall (“The Mistress”)
Larry Manda (“I Do Bidoo Bidoo”)
Carlo Mendoza (“El Presidente”)
Charlie Peralta (“One More Try”)
Charlie Peralta (“The Healing”)
Shayne Sarte (“A Mother’s Story”)

Next page: the second set of nominees