Azkals de Murga, Younghusband win UFL top individual awards

AKTV/Mark Dimalanta

Philippine national football stars Carli de Murga and Phil Younghusband topped the list of individual honorees of the 2012 United Football League.

De Murga, who helped Global FC win the UFL Division One title, was awarded the Golden Ball trophy, the league’s equivalent to the Most Valuable Player award.

Azkals star striker Younghusband, who helped the Loyola Meralco Sparks to a third-place finish, won the Golden Boot award for finishing with the most goals in the tournament with 23.

Saba Garmaroudi of second-place Kaya FC won the Golden Glove trophy as the best goalkeeper in Division One.

Apart from winning the title, Global also added another piece of hardware to its collection with the Fair Play award.

Division Two champions Pachanga FC bagged several awards as well.

Freddy Gonzalez, Pachanga star and team owner, won the Golden Ball and Golden Boot trophies for the second division, while teammate Kenneth Dolloso won the Golden Glove.

Manila All-Japan, meanwhile, received the Fair Play trophy for Division Two.

Related Stories



blog comments powered by Disqus