More Sports

Baseball Philippines: Manila Sharks beat Taguig Patriots

Defending champion Manila got its title-retention bid on a fiery note as the Sharks defeated the Taguig Patriots, 8-2, Saturday in the opening day of the Baseball Philippines Series 9 at the Rizal Memorial Baseball Stadium.

The Sharks allowed only six hits with Warren Vispo, Tawi Delos Reyes, Jayson Dimacutac and Roy Baclay taking turns in neutralizing the Patriots offense.

Manila seeks its second win when it goes up against the Cebu Dolphins, their opponent for the Series 8 title.

In the first game, the Alabang Tigers stunned the Batangas Bulls, 13-12, after the 11th inning after overcoming an early eight-run deficit.

The Tigers gave up an 8-0 lead in the first inning but came back and win the game in extra sessions.

Alabang nearly won the game in regulation after posting a 12-9 lead but Batangas tied the match-up on a two-run double by SJ San Juan.

Adrianne Bernardo singled and stole second before reaching home on a single by Matt Laurel to break the tie in the 11th.

Related Stories



blog comments powered by Disqus