College, high school teams gear up for Fr. Martin preseason tournament

A total of 16 collegiate menís teams, 18 high school teams and six womenís squads have signed up for the 18th Fr. Martin Summer Cup basketball tournament.

Considered as the countryís oldest pre-season collegiate cagefest, the tournament opens on April 15 at the Dom Placid gymnasium inside the San Beda College campus in Mendiola, Manila.

UAAP seniors and juniors champion Ateneo de Manila and NCAA juniors titlist San Beda College will be around, along with Tiong Lian winner Chiang Kai Shek and college squads De La Salle University, Far Eastern University, Adamson, Letran, and the University of the East.

Southern Luzon will have its own representative in the junior division in Naga Montessori, which has been participating in the last three seasons.

Central Luzon will also be represented by regional junior titlist, Jesus is Lord Christian Foundation.

Games will be played Sundays, Mondays, Tuesdays and Thursdays at San Beda College, Trinity University of Asia, Far Eastern University, Lyceum of the Philippines or San Andres gym.

The groupings in the menís division:
(Group A)- Adamson, Ateneo-A, Jose Rizal University, Lyceum Philippines University, Our Lady of Fatima University, STI College, University of the East, University of the Philippines.

(Group B)- Ateneo-B, Letran, La Salle, Far Eastern University, Philippine Merchant Marine School, Trinity University of Asia, University of Perpetual Help System-Dalta.

The groupings in the junior division:
(Group A)- Chiang Kai Shek, De La Salle Zobel, FEU-FERN, JIL-Christian Foundation, JRU, San Beda-A, STI, UP Integrated School, University of Santo Tomas.

(Group B)- Adamson, Ateneo, Naga Montessori, National College of Business and Arts, National University, OLFU, St. Stephen, San Beda-B and UPHSD.

Entered in the womenís division are Adamson, Ateneo, DLSU, FEU, LPU and OLFU.

Related Stories



blog comments powered by Disqus