Four-way race for MVP among David, Santos, Yap, Caguioa

AKTV photos by Leslie Sy and Pranz Kaeno Billones

The PBA’s Most Valuable Player for the 2011-12 season will come down to one of four players: Gary David of Powerade, Arwind Santos of Petron, James Yap of B-MEG, and Mark Caguioa of Barangay Ginebra.

The league on Thursday released its official list of candidates for the award comprised of those players.

David, the league’s leading local scorer for the season and the winner of the Best Player award in the Philippine Cup, led the statistical points race with an average of 34 SPs per game.

Santos, who led the league in rebounds per game for the season, is second with a 31.1 SPs average, while Yap, who was named finals Most Valuable Player in the Commissioner’s Cup, is third with a 28.8 SPs average.

Caguioa, the winner of the back-to-back Best Player awards for the Commissioner’s Cup and Governors’ Cup, rounds out the list with 28.2 SPs per game.

Many observers believe that the choice comes down to David and Caguioa, with both men putting their stamp on the PBA at various points in the season. David led eighth seed Powerade to a Cinderella run to the Philippine Cup finals, while Caguioa has been the heart and soul of Ginebra en route to semifinals appearances in the last two tournaments of the season.

David supporters point to the fact that Caguioa failed to lead Ginebra to a finals berth this season. Caguioa fans, on the other hand, argue that David was unable to carry Powerade past the elimination round in eaither of the last two conferences.

Apart from statistics, the MVP award will be decided by votes from players, media, and the PBA.

Related Stories



blog comments powered by Disqus