Kiefer Ravena, Ray Parks, Marcus Douthit lead Philippine defense of SEA Games basketball gold

FIBA Asia/Nuki Sabio

FIBA Asia/Nuki Sabio

UAAP stars Kiefer Ravena and Ray Parks join Marcus Douthit to banner the Philippine national men’s basketball team that will set out to keep its gold medal in the Southeast Asian Games in Myanmar in December.

National coach Jong Uichico submitted the 12-man lineup on Thursday featuring the three men along with Kevin Alas, Matt Rosser Ganuelas, Ronald Pascual, Jake Pascual, Garvo Lanete, Kevin Ferrer, Rey Mark Belo, Jericho Cruz, and Prince Caperal.

Parks, Ravena, Lanete, and Jake Pascual are holdovers from the Sinag Pilipinas team that won the gold medal in the 2011 edition of the SEA Games under coach Norman Black.

“Our lineup is okay, I think we’ll be very competitive as we try to defend our title,” said Uichico, who last coached the national team in the 2012 Southeast Asian Basketball Association Cup. He will be assisted by fellow Gilas Pilipinas staff members Josh Reyes and Nash Racela for the tournament.

Samahang Basketbol ng Pilipinas executive director Sonny Barrios urged Filipino fans to get behind the squad.

“Coach Jong has assembled a competitive team from the best talents available to him to defend the SEAG crown,” said Barrios. “Let us rally behind them as they prepare for the challenge ahead, and we wish them well.”

Related Stories



blog comments powered by Disqus