Maierhofer, Maliksi, De Ocampo, Aquino change places in revised deal

AKTV/Pranz Kaeno Billones

The PBA on Wednesday approved a revised trade involving Barangay Ginebra, Barako Bull, and B-MEG.

In the approved transaction Ginebra will receive Rico Maierhofer and Allein Maliksi; Barako Bull will receive Jimbo Aquino and 2013 first round and 2012 second round picks from Ginebra; while B-MEG will receive Yancy de Ocampo and a 2012 second round pick from Barako.

InterAKTV first broke news of a deal involving the four players on Tuesday morning.

The teams had sent an earlier proposal to the office of PBA commissioner Chito Salud, who has the power to modify deals that he deems unbalanced. The revised deal includes better draft concessions from Ginebra to Barako and an additional draft pick for B-MEG.

Maierhofer won the league’s Rookie of the Year award in 2010, but is coming off an ACL injury which caused him to miss parts of last season. Maliksi, on the other hand, is the No. 8 overall pick in this year’s draft and was the inaugural Most Valuable Player of the PBA D-League.

Ginebra has been looking to upgrade its frontcourt since the departure of starting power forward Rudy Hatfield, who left the team midway through last season.

De Ocampo was the top overall pick in 2002, but has been a backup center for most of his journeyman career. Aquino was picked eighth overall in the first round of last year’s draft, but has languished in Ginebra’s crowded backcourt rotation.

Related Stories



blog comments powered by Disqus