SBP, PBA to honor 1973 champion Philippine men’s basketball team


The Philippine Basketball Association and the Samahang Basketbol ng Pilipinas will honor the members of the 1973 Philippine men’s basketball team that won the gold medal when the country last hosted the Asian Basketball Confederation, now known as the FIBA Asia Championship.

PBA commissioner Chito Salud and SBP secretary general Sonny Barrios said they are planning to fete the historic squad that made the country proud 40 years ago. The remaining members of the team are expected to be given citation before the staging of the FIBA Asia Championship in the middle of the year.

“We’re planning to do that,” Barrios told InterAKTV in an exclusive interview. “We’re just looking for the right time when to do it.”

As proof that the SBP is recognizing the feat of that squad, the cage governing body of the country invited William “Bogs” Adornado during the press launch of the FIBA Asia Championship on Monday at the MOA Arena.

Adornado was the 1973 Philippine team’s top gun and emerged as the most outstanding player of the ABC.

Other noteable members of the squad include Mon Fernandez, Robert Jaworski, Francis Arnaiz, Abet Guidaben, Manny Paner, Yoyong Martirez, Ricardo Cleofas and Jimmy Mariano.

Four members of the 1973 squad are already deceased – center Big Boy Reynoso, swingman Dave Regullano and blue-collar worker Tembong Melencio as well as its coach Tito Eduque.

Salud is also planning to honor the squad during the third conference of the PBA season.

“We can fete the members probably during halftime of a PBA game, probably sa third conference para malapit na yung FIBA Asia,” said Salud.

Related Stories



blog comments powered by Disqus