More Sports

Serena Williams to headline PLDT Home Fibr-backed Philippine Mavericks in second edition of IPTL


World No.1 Serena Williams will be headlining the Philippine Mavericks in the second edition of the International Premier Tennis League, with its Manila leg to be played on December.

Joining Williams are Mixed Doubles Grand Slam titleholder Richard Gasquet, Wimbledon Championships WTA titleholder Sabine Lisicki, 2013 Australian Open Mixed Doubles titleholder Jarmila Gajdosova, youngest ATP top 100 Borna Coric, ATP World Tour Doubles titleholder and Pinoy pride Treat Huey and World No. 8 in men’s singles and team captain Mark Philippoussis.

Presenting the Philippine leg once again and the all-new Philippine Mavericks team (formerly the Manila Mavericks) is PLDT HOME Fibr, the country’s most powerful broadband.

“PLDT HOME Fibr is honored to once again take part in this power-packed sporting event,” PLDT VP and HOME Marketing Head Gary Dujali said. “Last year’s run was nothing short of world-class and we expect even more for this year with an even bigger roster of tennis superstars.”

The Philippine Mavericks will be pitted against tennis stalwarts representing the teams of India, United Arab Emirates, Singapore and an added fifth country—Japan. These superstars form the Micromax Indian Aces, UAE Royals, Singapore Slammers and Japan Warriors.

As a treat to customers, all PLDT HOME Fibr subscribers will be entitled to a 20 percent discount for their tickets to the IPTL Philippine leg from September 12 until October 30.

“At an exclusive deal, our Fibr-powered tennis aficionados will be able to witness the thrilling moments of their favorite international players in action,” Dujali said. “More than delivering a powerful broadband, PLDT HOME Fibr commits to bringing optimal world-class experiences to its customers.”

The second season of IPTL will commence its five-nation tour on December 2 in Japan. The Philippines will host the second leg on December 6 to 8 at the SM MOA Arena, preceding scheduled stops in Delhi (India), Dubai (UAE) and Singapore.

Related Stories



blog comments powered by Disqus