Team Socceroo escapes late Forza surge to clinch UFL Division Two crown

AKTV file photo/Toto Gamboa

AKTV file photo/Toto Gamboa

Team Socceroo survived a huge rally by Forza FC before booking a 5-4 victory to win the Division Two title of the United Football League Sunday night at the Emperador Stadium in McKinley Hill in Taguig.

Sitting on a comfortable 5-1 cushion midway through the second half, Team Socceroo saw its huge lead cut down to just a single goal.

However, Forza’s effort was not enough to pull off a comeback against Team Socceroo, which notched its 13th straight victory en route to Division One promotion next season.

Lee Hyeon Seung bagged a hat trick with his three goals, while Cha Won Jae and Lee Jeong Woo chipped in one goal apiece for Team Socceroo.

Nikko Paolo Villa led the rally for Forza with his two goals, while Gerald Pacquiao and Jun Mark Saraga scored one goal each.

With still three matches left in the season, Team Socceroo already bagged the Division Two crown after sweeping all of its 13 games for 39 points, leading by a mile at the top of the table.

Forza remained at second place with 24 points to tie Union Internacional Manila and remain in the hunt for a playoff for a spot in Division One next season.

Aside from the Division Two winner, the runner-up of the second division has a chance for promotion by figuring in a playoff match against the ninth-seed team of the first division.

In the first match, Laos FC edged Dolphins United, 2-1.

Mohammad Ghamesi and Badreldin Elhabib scored one goal apiece to lead Laos, which remained at fifth place in the standings with 17 points.

Related Stories



blog comments powered by Disqus