UP College of Mass Comm sets homecoming, 1st Glory Awards on Nov. 11

UP College of Mass Communication holds its grand alumni homecoming along with the launch of its 1st Glory Awards on November 11, 2017. Screenshot from the UP CMC Facebook page.

It’s going to “A Night of Glory” at the University of the Philippines College of Mass Communication’s (UP CMC) homecoming on Saturday, Novvember 11, 5 p.m., at the UP Bahay ng Alumni, UP DIliman, Quezon City.

Led by the UP CMC Alumni Association (UPCMCAA) and presented by San Miguel Corporation and TAPE, the gathering becomes even more special with the launching of the UP CMC First Glory Awards. The recognition will be given to outstanding alumni cited for their exemplary contribution and achievements especially in the field of communications.

The first recipients of the Glory Awards, named after UPCMC’s first dean Dr. Gloria Feliciano, are Roby Alampay, editor-in-chief of Business World and Interaksyon.com (Journalism); Marissa Flores, Senior Vice President. News and Public Affairs Group, GMA Network (Broadcast Journalism); Lan Mercado, Asian regional director of Oxfam, one of the largest and most influential humanitarian organizations worldwide (Social Advocacy); Lauren Dyogi, entertainment production division head, ABS-CBN (Television Arts); Raul Castro, chairman and CEO of McCann Worldgroup Philippines (Marketing Communications); Sari Dalena, UP Film Institute director (Film); Joel David, film scholar, critic and educator  (Film Research and Criticism) and Joy Buensalido, CEO, Buensalido & Associates (Public Relations).

Hosting the event are UP CMC alumni Pia Guanio, Tuesday Vargas, and Kaladkaren Davila.

UP CMC has consistently pursued its vision of developing socially responsible, critical and vigilant media to help create an egalitarian and progressive society. Over the years, the UP-CMC has been consistently producing graduates who have become leaders and movers in the Philippine mass media.

Forty of them will be cited by UPCMCAA at the homecoming as past awardees, among them, Senator Loren Legarda, former Senator Orly Mercado, entertainers Ogie Alcasid and Tessie Tomas, media practitioners Luchie Valdez, Kara David, Ed Lingao, Millet Mananquil, Malou Mangahas, Sari Yap, Ana Marie Pamintuan, Joanne Rae Ramirez, Ging Reyes, Miriam Grace Go, Abel Ulanday, and Jessica Soho; film directors Maryo de los Reyes and Raya Martin; educators Yvonne Chua, Tessa Jasminez. Dr. Victor Valbuena; film producer Ronald Arguelles; TV producer and writer Lyca Benitez-Brown; and advertising and corporate communications executives Danny Gozo, Yolly Villanueva Ong; and Rep. Ed Zialcita.

Completing the line-up of medalists are Cecile de Joya, Angelina Goloy, Hanz Lopez-Vito, Robert Mananquil, Atty. Daisy Mandap, Susanah Lily Mendoza, Nitnit Mongaya Hoegsholm, Venus Navalta, Victor Ramos, Ervin Temporal, Vic Tirol, Dr. Dante Velasco, and Atty. Rita Lina Ventura-Jimeno.

The UP CMC has three departments recognized as Centers of Excellence by the Commission on Higher Education. These are the Departments of Broadcast Communication, Communication Research and Journalism. Meantime, the UP Film Institute is the only internationally accredited film school in the Philippines with film courses at the baccalaureate and masteral levels.