Triumphant Pinoy boxers honored by Senate

December 5, 2017 - 6:17 PM
Senators led by Senate President Aquilino “Koko” Pimentel III (3rd from right) join World Boxing Organization (WBO) international featherweight champion Mark Magsayo (middle) in a photo taken during Tuesday’s plenary session, December 5, 2017. The Senate had earlier adopted proposed Senate Resolution No. 562, which commended Magsayo for his victory over Shota Hayashi of Japan last November 25, 2017 in Tagbilaran, Bohol. Also in photos are (from left to right) Senators Sherwin Gatchalian, Joel Villanueva, Emmanuel Pacquiao, Antonio Trillanes IV and Joseph Victor Ejercito, along with Magsayo’s wife (3rd from left) and Jane Yap (4th from right), wife of Tagbilaran, Bohol City Mayor John Geesnell Yap. (Albert Calvelo/JC/ PRIB)

Filipino boxers Jerwin Ancajas and Mark Magsayo received recognition from the Senate after winning their respective bouts.

Ancajas retained the International Boxing Federation (IBF) Junior Bantamweight Championship title last November 18 at the SSE Arena in Belfast, Northern Ireland.

Magsayo earned victory over Shota Hayashi of Japan to win the World Boxing Organization (WBO) International Featherweight Championship belt last November 25 in Tagbilaran, Bohol.

Two separate senate resolutions have been filed to commend the two boxers for “bringing prestige to our country.”